How to start a project with the question WHY?

Β·

2 min read

No alt text provided for this image

πŸš€ I started my career as a junior developer, and step by step, I worked my way up to a senior developer. πŸ–₯ During this time, for about eight years, I very rarely asked the question: WHY? Why was the project launched? What was our final goal? At that moment, I was more concerned about whether I was interested in my tasks and whether they allowed me to develop professionally. πŸ’ͺ

Everything changed when I started leading teams and then projects.πŸ“ŠIt took me a while to realize that before starting any project, you have to ask this simple question: WHY?
Wanting to prove myself πŸ’ͺ , I seized upon the execution of any project without thinking about who needed it and why. As a result, I completed projects successfully, but the outcomes of my work and my team's work often turned out to be useless to anyone. It hurt my motivation and confidence. πŸ˜’ Therefore, I decided to carry on those projects that were understandable to me in terms of the benefits that these projects would bring to the company and customers. πŸ’°
From project to project, I began to ask more and more uncomfortable questions for customers, senior managers, etc. The main question among these questions was: WHY? ⚑

Very often, in a company, whether small or large, local or global, projects are launched without a full understanding of the business value for the company and customers. πŸ€” It might lead to the project's failure, over-budget and deadline misses, conflicts within and outside the team, etc. πŸ‘Ž Therefore, from my point of view, any project manager should start with the question WHY? ⚑It might be a difficult task.
Sometimes, your senior manager forces you to begin a project with unclear benefits. In such cases, you should refuse and explain the reasons for the refusal. β›” Saying NO is an even more difficult task. However, as a project manager, I take responsibility to the company for the project's successful implementation and the fact that the company will obtain benefits. πŸ† A useless or unclear project will incur costs, demotivate the team, and doubt your professionalism as a successful project manager. πŸ‘Ž Think about it, do you want this to happen? The answer is obvious. Therefore, the next time you launch a new project, start with a simple question: WHY?⚑

Β